Just published this month, and just purchased by myself over the weekend is the new book by Michael Brooks titled “13Things That Don’t Make Sense: The Most Baffling Scientific Mysteries of Our Time.” This is just his opinion of course, but it piqued by interest, and being a sucker for such books, I purchased it. It looks to be an interesting book, and serves as a nice recap of 13 important scientific problems that science is working on cracking.

image

I’ve only just started reading, so this is not a review, except to say it is an accessible book, easy to read, not bound up tightly in a lot of scientific jargon. The chapters aren’t overly long, and succinctly put each science problem in an informative narrative.

In the table below, I’ve listing the chapter titles and sub-titles.

Chapter

Title/Sub-title

1 The Missing Universe
We can only account for 4% of the cosmos
2 The Pioneer Anomaly
Two spacecraft are flouting the laws of physics
3 Varying Constants
Destabilizing our view of the universe
4 Cold Fusion
Nuclear energy without the drama
5 Life
Are you more than just a bag of chemicals?
6 Viking
NASA scientists found evidence for life on Mars. Then they changed their minds.
7 The WOW! Signal
Has ET already been in touch?
8 A Giant Virus
It’s a freak that could rewrite the story of life
9 Death
Evolution’s problem with self-destruction
10 Sex
There are better ways to reproduce
11 Free Will
Your decisions are not your own
12 The Placebo Effect
Who’s being deceived?
13 Homopathy
It’s patently absurd, so why won’t it go away?

I plan to take my time on this book to soak it in; also I working on reading a couple of other books at the same time. I’m especially looking forward to reading chapters 5, 9 and 11 and may post some comments after I’ve finished those chapters.

Again, just thought I’d give this book a mention as many of its chapters, at least five I believe, concern subject matter I’ve written about in previous posts.

If you’ve read it or are planning too, I’d be interested in your comments.

