Kudos to Senator McCain who repudiated remarks made by conservative talk show host Bill Cunningham today in Cincinnati. Cunningham mentioned Senator Obama’s middle name three times while disparaging him in comments at a McCain rally.

Senator McCain repudiated the remarks and apologized. Senator McCain’s remarks were, “It’s my understanding that before I came in here a person who was on the program before I spoke made some disparaging remarks about my two colleagues in the Senate, Senator Obama and Senator Clinton,” he said. “I have repeatedly stated my respect for Senator Obama and Senator Clinton, that I will treat them with respect. I will call them ‘Senator.’ We will have a respectful debate, as I have said on hundreds of occasions. I regret any comments that may have been made about these two individuals who are honorable Americans.”

“Whatever suggestion that was made that was any way disparaging to the integrity, character, honesty of either Senator Obama or Senator Clinton was wrong,” he said, “I condemn it, and if I have any responsibility, I will take the responsibility, and I apologize for it.”

Senator Obama was given his name in honor of his late father, whose name was also Barack Hussein Obama. Calling out a candidate for policy differences is one thing, but name calling should be beneath these high class candidates. Senator McCain did the right thing in his response which is what we should want all the candidates doing. My belief is that if they show they can do the right thing, then they have ‘The Right Stuff’. Senator McCain does indeed have the right stuff.

For additional detail on the event, see the blog link below:

http://thecaucus.blogs.nytimes.com/2008/02/26/mccain-repudiates-hussein-obama-remarks/

