I need to correct the width in feet of asteroid 2007 TU24 in my previous post. My meters to feet conversion was off. It is actually estimated to be 500 feet to 2,000 feet in diameter, or 150 meters to 610 meters. It closest distance should occur at 2:33 am Central (3:33 am Eastern, 12:33 am Pacific). NASA says moderate sized telescopes should be able to pick up the asteroid. It will quickly fade after its closest approach, so be ready if you plan to observe it.

Advertisements