The Jet Propulsion Lab reports as of January 28 that astronomers have updated the odds of asteroid 2007 WD5 hitting Mars in January. My post of January 21 indicated the odds then were believed to be about 1 in 75. Now the odds are estimated at 1 in 25, according to new trajectory projections. I think these are decent odds and I am excited about the possibility of a nice impact stirring up some ground on Mars that perhaps can be inspected. There should be some nice video of the event too. Of course, this means there is also a 24 in 25 chance of the asteroid not hitting Mars, however, my gut tells me that JPL is estimating conservatively so as not to be embarrassed if there is no impact. Wishful thinking perhaps, but I await more information.

Near Earth Object Program link:

http://neo.jpl.nasa.gov/news/news153.html

