Dan Fogelberg passed away December 16, three years after discovering he had advanced prostate cancer. I saw Dan perform in concert at Illinois State University on Thursday, December 8, 1977. Dan was a native of Peoria, Illinois and was on his way home for Christmas to visit his parents. He brought his friend Tim Weisberg along to assist on several songs. The concert featured Dan, his guitar; Tim and his flute.  Dan spoke to the audience in a friendly way and was very personable. I estimate the crowd at probably 2,000 plus in the auditorium. Not a huge venue but not small either. Still, he acted like he was speaking to each individual there. There is a lot to be said for seeing an artist in concert with just his voice and his guitar. Superlatives are a waste of time to describe the event I saw in that they would be inadequate. If you have a chance to see any artist by himself without his band, do so.

By the way, prostate cancer is the leading killer disease for men. The Mayo clinic says that if it is detected early, it can be cured. The main tests to catch it early are a DRE, which involves the physician inserting a gloved, lubricated finger into the rectum to determine if there are any unusual texture or shape to the prostate, or if it is abnormally enlarged; and a PSA test involving analysis of a blood sample which can be drawn from the arm. Higher than normal levels of the prostate-specific antigen may indicate the prostate is infected, inflamed or pre-cancerous. If the tests create a cause for concern, then a biopsy would be performed. These tests are performed every few years along with a routine physical.

 

 

 

Back to Dan – you can’t go wrong buying any one of Dan’s albums. I have the first four: Home Free (1972), Souvenirs (1974), Captured Angel (1975) and Nether Lands (1977). These are very good. I remember I wore out the stylus on my turntable in the summer of 1977 playing Nether Lands. Turntables are old school but good school.

I’m at that age where prostate cancer testing is recommended. If you are also, I encourage you to have it done. Some of my favorites lines from Dan’s music (I’ll keep it very brief):

And it’s going to be a day

There is really no way to say no to the morning

Yes it’s going to be a day

There is really nothing left to say but come on morning

And maybe there are seasons and maybe they change

And maybe to love is not so strange

 Home Free cover

—To the Morning from Home Free 1972

I want a lover and I want some friends

And I want to live in the sun

And I want to do all the things that I never have done

 Nether Lands cover 

—Nether Lands from Nether Lands 1977

  

One day we’ll all understand

 Souvenirs cover

–Part of the Plan from Souvenirs 1974

 

So long, Dan.

 

 

 

