Thanksgiving by Edgar Albert Guest (1881-1959)
[His great niece, Judith Guest, wrote “Ordinary People”].

I drove by the local Best Buy on the way home this afternoon after leaving my brother’s house. People are lined up outside, some in tents, waiting for the store to open early Friday morning. It’s cold out, intermittently raining and windy. I’m glad, should I say thankful, that I’m not one of them. I understand that JC Penney is opening locally at 4:00am on Friday. They call the day after Thanksgiving, Black Friday; the busiest shopping day of the year.

I suggest that Thanksgiving be moved to the fourth Tuesday in November, or even the fourth Monday. I believe this would alleviate some stress during this time; and hopefully avoid requiring people to camp out in the cold. Retailers complain that the earlier the day of the week, the less people are out shopping. By moving the date to a day early in the week, it should have the effect of spreading out the initial shopping rush over several days rather than just the three currently, Friday, Saturday and Sunday, assuming everyone returns to work the following Monday. If Thanksgiving became a Monday celebration, as is common with many of our holidays, the initial shopping rush would spread to Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday.

